Welcome to Penobscot County

Public Notice:  Penobcot County Offices are closed for Tuesday, January 24th, 2017 due to inclement weather.  The scheduled Commissioners' meeting is also cancelled.


Penobscot County is home of the largest metropolitan area north of Portland.  It boasts the scenic beauty of its countryside with the urban living of its center of population and home to the county seat, the City of Bangor.

Penobscot County was incorporated in 1816 and the county seat is Bangor. The Penobscot River, Maine's longest, runs through the county. It is one of Maine's largest counties covering over 3,500 square miles. The county is bordered on Piscataquis County on the west and Washington and Hancock Counties on the east.

Bangor is home to many businesses and cultural centers including the Maine Shakespear Festival and National Folk Festival. Also, Orono, in Penobscot County, is the main campus for the University of Maine.


As of the census in 2005, Penobscot County presently has a population in excess 145,000 people. The greater Bangor area represents approximately 45 percent of the population in this county and represents the second largest population center in the State of Maine.

The county is governed by a board of commissioners comprised of three commissioners representing the different districts of the county. Commissioner Peter Baldacci represents Disctrict 1. Commissioner Tom Davis represents District 2. And Commissioner Laura Sanborn represents District 3.

Commissioners' meetings are held every Tuesday at 9:00 AM at the Penobscot County Courthouseat 97 Hammond Street in Bangor and are open to the public. Minutes of these meetings can be obtained from the County Administrator, Bill Collins.